Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blueboy1977

Final Blueberry Varieties

blueboy1977
9 years ago

This will be my 3rd time cutting varieties from my collection. I've been doing this for several years now and I finally figured out which plants are the tastiest in my corner of the world. I entered this season with Snowchaser, Springhigh, Emerald, Jewel, Sweetcrisp and Sunshine Blue. These were the best ones last season and got rid of all the other varieties I was growing. This season there were a couple more I identified that need to go.

I know I praised Snowchaser last season as the best flavored berry in my collection. This season it was alittle disappointing. I may have left too much fruit on it this season which may have contributed to my disappointment but the fruit was rather bland. Sweet, yes but lacking that strong flavor it had last season. I might give it one more season or I might not. Haven't decided yet.

Jewel was also on the looser list this season. It's an okay berry com paired to my others but not top notch IMO. I have 2 of these and they are nice looking plants that put out LBS of fruit but as these plants get bigger my rain water doesn't go as far so I have to selectively down grade my number of plants to keep up with the demand on my rain storage capacity. That being said Jewel is out the door!

Sweetcrisp stole the show once again! Springhigh was right behind it and my wife's favorite variety. Emerald is good not great but good enough plus it's a beast in the production department. Sunshine is still top notch and it's a late variety which is nice to extend the season for fresh eating. I think I will let Snowchaser and Jewel go but replace them with more Springhigh and Sunshjne blue as I only have one of each of those varieties. Springhigh is a very early and delicious variety. Emerald and Sweetcrisp round out my mid season varieties and Sunshine will be my late season. That's 3 months of top notch blueberry pickin. That's what I need!