Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alekdavis

Can I salvage this apricot tree?

alekdavis
9 years ago

I'm a gardening newbie, so please excuse me if I don't use correct terminology or say something silly.

I planted an apricot tree 2-3 years ago. It grew faster than any other tree in my backyard. This (early) spring I pruned it because the branches were spreading really fast. Soon after the leaves started appearing, they turned brown. I cut off a couple of branches and they were dry inside. I cut off the trunk intending to replace the tree, but after leaving it for a few weeks I noticed a few offshoots (see photo).

I am wondering if these offshoots have a chance of bringing a new life to the tree or if I should just replace it with a new one.

Thanks in advance.

Comments (9)

• Kevin Reilly
    9 years ago

If you bought the tree it was probably grafted, and those shoots are probably the root stock. If you'd like to try your had and grafting than you can use those. Otherwise I think you will need a new tree.

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    9 years ago

The leaves on those shoots indicate it is a peach. Apricots are often grafted onto Lovell, a seedling peach. You now have a peach tree with fruit of unknown quality. If you want another apricot; grafting, budding, or buying another are your options.

• alekdavis
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks a lot for a quick response. Although, being a newbie, have no idea what you said (except the last sentence) :-), I'll do some research on "root stock" and "grafting". Thanks again.

• alekdavis
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Oh, got it now. Thanks a lot for the explanation. May I ask a related question? I had a similar story with a cherry tree: it died, I left the offshoot to grow over 6 feet, but it does not have big branches and no fruit (I can post photo if needed). Would it be due to the same problem: the offshoot is of questionable quality?

This post was edited by alekdavis on Thu, Jun 26, 14 at 18:34