Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
apexgrower

Need help lowering pH levels!!

apexgrower
13 years ago

Hey Everyone,

I have been growing blueberries for a couple months now and i recently checked the pH level on all 20 potted plants. They are all between 5.8-6.0 but i would like to lower the pH to around 4.8-5.0. I recently purchased some aluminum sulfate but havent applied it yet. I'm kinda nervous about burning the roots. All of the bushes are in 10 gal containers and have been fertilized with Florikan 17-5-8 (just in case the fertilizer makes a difference). If anyone can help me with lowering the pH levels safely with somewhat detailed instructions that would be awesome. Also, would it be alright to use Miracid to water the bushes after applying the aluminum sulfate?

Thanks,

Matt

Comments (4)

• ericwi
    13 years ago

I grow blueberry shrubs here in Madison, Wisconsin, but all of our shrubs are planted in the ground, so my methods of pH control are not necessarily best for your situation. How are you measuring pH? If the leaves are deep green color, the shrubs are healthy, and pH must be reasonably close to optimum. We have hard water, supplied by the City of Madison. Our water has pH = 7.6, and it gets an addition of 5% white vinegar before being used on our blueberry shrubs. If you are using soft water, or rainwater, the amount of acid needed will be less, so you need to know what kind of water you have before proceeding. Also, you would have to know what kind of growing medium is in the pot. Some people grow potted blueberries in spaghnum peat moss, and this material tends to be acidic with no chemical addition needed.

• apexgrower
    Original Author
    13 years ago