Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arbo_retum

KIWI- anyone grow in z.5?

arbo_retum
13 years ago

someone is selling kiwi vines here. i grow ornamental actinidia but didn't know the fruiting kiwi would have a long enough growing season here in z.5 boston. Any experiences/advice?

thanks so much,

mindy

www.cottonarboretum.com/

a teaching website

http://usagardener.com/how_to_grow_fruits/how_to_grow_hardy_kiwi.php

Here is a link that might be useful: kiwi growing site

Comments (8)

• firstyear
    13 years ago

I believe Winchester is zone 6 these days (I'm in Melrose, which is 6a). This is my first year growing Kiwi, but you should be able to grow arguta or kolomikta in our area.

• arbo_retum
    Original Author
    13 years ago

thanks, but after 23 years gardening here, this particular property is still z.5. We have been successfully growing ornamental kiwi for the last 15 years, so i am not asking about zone tolerance. I am asking if anyone in z.5 has kiwi that has produced mature fruit.
    best,
    mindy
    www.cottonarboretum.com
    a teaching website

• tyler_j
    13 years ago

Ornamental as in Kolomikta (arctic beauty)??? I'm in zone 5 in s.w. Ontario and harvested my first arguta kiwi fruit last year. If you are talking about fuzzy grocery store kiwi (deliciosa) then no you can't grow it in your zone.

• arbo_retum
    Original Author
    13 years ago

tyler, are these they??!! they look like grapes in size!? how do you eat them? are they 'worth it'? (can you tell i know NOTHING about this and have not put on my research hat yet today?!)
    thanks for your help,
    mindy
    www.cottonarboretum.com

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:115703}}

• tyler_j
    13 years ago