Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mommomsgarden

Watermelon?

mommomsgarden
10 years ago

I'm a a beginner at all of this ESP to growing fruits and veggies! How should I grow and care for my melon plants?

Comments (9)

• mommomsgarden
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is a closer picture of my watermelon.

• don555
    10 years ago

You sure you are growing watermelon? Those leaves in the first pic look like eggplant leaves maybe, along with perhaps a pepper plant, but definitely not any watermelon leaves like I've ever seen. In the second pic, I see one small leaf that could be a watermelon leaf, but that's it.

• rayrose
    10 years ago

Watermelons should be grown as stand alone plants, and not in a concrete/brick enclosure that does nothing but draw the moisture away from the plant. These are LARGE plants that need plenty of room to sprawl, and full all day sun. With your approach, you're wasting your time.

• fabaceae_native
    10 years ago

If it weren't for the appearance of your little watermelon plant, I would refute what rayrose said. It's true that watermelons need lots of space and sunlight, as well as nutrients, heat, and a long growing season.

From the looks of it, your setup may be lacking at least space and sun, and since NJ does not have a super long growing season, you would want your watermelon plant to already be a big viney thing by now, possibly even setting its first fruit.

• don555
    10 years ago