Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
syntria

Growing Minnesota Midget in Texas - Help!

syntria
10 years ago

Thanks ahead of time for any assistance!

I've been growing this guy from seed, started about two months ago. Finally got a melon! The flowers keep dropping off but one finally took.

How can I increase the productivity of this plant? I know I wouldn't want to many melons, but more than one!

The Texas Heat is about to arrive as well, with 100+ Temps. Anything I should do to protect this guy? Anything I should do in the way of Fertilizing? I'm fairly new to growing in general, usually I just stick to Tomatoes each year.

Thanks again :)

Comments (16)

• syntria
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Follow up

Currently he's getting watered once every other day--going to once a day when the 100 temps hit. He gets around 8-10 hours of direct sunlight. He's in the old brown plastic container on the end there with the cage.

I'm really excited, I didn't expect the plant to be doing as well as it is since I've got no clue what I'm doing really. D:

Here is a link that might be useful: My Garden Gallery on FB

• mrsg47
    10 years ago

Melons are tricky but not in your area. They love texas and Mexico. How many plants do you have growing per mound?

• syntria
    Original Author
    10 years ago

No mound, I have it in an old tomato caged container, see second post. I do have some potatoes in the ground, but everything else I'm growing is in a container with a drip system.

There's currently 3-4 plants in that one pot. I started 6 of them in a container inside in I think April, and 3 thrived and I didn't really plan it out much when I stuck them all into the same container.

The board currently in the sun in the picture gets the most light, 10+ hours, while the further into the padio it goes, the less light it gets and the things I have under the padio get 4 hours of morning light and that's where all my herbs are.