Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Blueberry

Posted by mommomsgarden New Jersey (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 26, 13 at 19:31

I planted my blueberry bush months ago and I have seen no growth at all! It's exactly the same size and the berries are just not growing! What am I doing wrong? Anyone have the low down on growing blueberries? Like I said in my watermelon post I am very new to this! Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Blueberry

Hi mommom,
Is it getting a lot of sun?Was anything like Peat moss mixed in the planting hole?What's the pH of the soil?Is it being fertilized and if so,with what? Thanks,Brady

o

Your plant still looks healthy, but there are some things to do to help it's growth. Berries should be stripped off of a new plant so all of the energy can go towards the plant. New roots cannot support both berries and growth.

Blueberries like full sun. If the plant is not on the south side of that fence, it may not be getting enough sun.

o

It is Getting a lot of sun it is on the south side of the fence. I am pretty sure i mixed in Pete Moss in when I put down the soil. Is it too late to move the bush? I used miracle grow as fertilizer. I dont know the soul ph. What do you mean? Cut off the small berries that are on there?

o

mommom,
I also thought of one other thing.When I first started growing Blueberries,they were bought in gallon or so size pots.I never physically broke the root ball apart and planted it that way.The plants never seemed to grow much.
Then I learned about doing it and they grew faster.The plant still thinks it's inside the container if the roots are not loosened.
I don't think it's too late to move,just keep it moist.
Yeah,pulling the berries off now should help the plant grow better.Some people recommend doing it for the first two years. Brady

o

Thank you! With that being said, does it take years to grow edible berries?
I think I will move it in a more sunny spot and loosen the roots. What does Peat moss do to it?