Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Plum tree advise

Posted by Shay_Mason Ca (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 22, 14 at 21:24

We bought our house about a year ago and aquired trees that were not very well taken care of. I have two trees that grow fruit. One is plum and the other is orange. I have no clue what kind of plum tree this is. And its ugly as sin. I dont know the first thing about fruit trees. Can anybody identify this plum tree and give me a hint on what to do? I am very new to this and appreciate all the info you can give. I live in Fair Oaks CA by the way. If that helps. Thanks
Shay

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Plum tree advise

A closeup shot of the plums would be helpful. As well as a look at the inside of the plum. Tasting it would also help. In california Santa rosa plum is very common. It is purple skin with an amber flesh that is tinged with red.

o

Here is the close up of the actual plum. It is purple with amber flesh. But thats all I really know. Also the trees are pretty congested. I have cut back some of the higher branches from a neighboring tree to try and shed some sunlight to the brances of the plum tree. Dont know if it helped.

o

The leaves look like Santa Rosa Plum's.Does the fruit have a fairly round shape? Brady

o

Yes. They are pretty much round in shape. There are a few odd shaped ones,but not much.

o

Hows the flavor? Santa rosa (at least the ones I have tasted) had a tart skin and a sweet flesh. I would I agree with many of the more experienced members of this forum that pluots are vastly superior. Have you checked on the braches/limbs to see if the previous owner left the tags on the tree? They might be hidden under all that fruit :).

o

Looks more like a Damson.

Here is a link that might be useful: DAMSON PLUM

o

Its hard to tell in the picture for sure but it looks like that tree isn't so bad. Nice open shape.

o