Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jameya

question about patio peach tree....

jameya
9 years ago

Hello all,
I am new to trying to grow things, and needless to say ive been going crazy buying random plants and things this spring..i recently bout a patio peach..they had ones that said blaze patio peach but none of them had any leaves on them, so i got one with the tag that just said patio peach because it was one of the few that had green leaves on it. I took a picture of it tonight..i was wondering if anyone could give me any advice on it. Should i plant it in a large pot, or can i just plant it right into the ground?? Im in zone 5 in indiana. Does it look healthy and is there anything i should do to it to make it healthier or what?? Any advice would be super helpful. They had them on sale with 20 percent off and i just couldnt help myself. The tag says they stay small and can reach about 5 feet and thats it. The tag didnt really have much info on it and like ive said im totally new at this and have no clue as to what im doing :) i prolly should stay out of the flower and plant section but i just cant help myself...lol

Comments (9)

• colonel_kernel
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I think it looks just fine. It should do well in the ground, but will probably get larger than 5'. Good luck with your endeavor!

• fireduck
    9 years ago

Put that sucker right in the ground! When you backfill the hole...water in the soil really well. You must make sure the rootzone is wet and there are no air pockets. Kill or pull those weeds or whatever that is growing at the base of the trunk.

• jameya
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the advice!!! I was recently told on here that tags on plants at big box stores are usually misleading, so i have just learned that :) ill plant it in the ground then next weekend. And when i do the back fill can i mix some miracle grow in with the regular soil?? And how big of hole should i make??