Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
macheske

Strawberries: how and when to thin and plant runners

macheske
15 years ago

This is my first year growing strawberries. I planted Jewel variety in early March about 18" on center. They provided plenty of strawberries this year and sent out an abundance of runners. I want to double the size of my patch and thin them out properly. Here are a few questions:

1. What is the best time to plant the runners into another area?

2. Do I keep some of the runners in the same bed and place them half-way between the original plants?

3. Should I cut down the leaves from the original plants in the fall?

4. Should I cover the plants with mulch for the winter? I know it's good to do that in colder climates, but it doesn't get all that cold here (Don, you there? I'm not far from you)

In the long run I plan on going from 1 40' row to 4 40' rows.

Alternatively, should I order some new plants of another variety and start filling in a new area in the spring?

Thanks,

Rick

Comments (5)

• jellyman
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Rick:

What is your strategy for dealing with weeds? I would give that some thought before expanding your patch to four 40' rows. Keeping the plants thinned to 8-10 inches apart is easy, but the weeds can be nearly impossible. I will try to respond to your specific questions, but keep in mind that all these issues are insignificant in a strawberry planting when compared with weeds.

1. Runners may be transplanted any time from late fall, right through winter and into spring.