Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amandawoodward

Does my bush have poisonous berries

amandawoodward
9 years ago

We have a couple of bushes in our yard that have sprouted what appears to be blueberries. We've lived here 4 years - the 1st 2 summers there were no berries. Last summer and this summer, there are berries. How do I know that these are ok to eat and not poisonous berries? We have a couple of bushes in our yard that have sprouted what appears to be blueberries. We've lived here 4 years - the 1st 2 summers there were no berries. Last summer and this summer, there are berries. How do I know that these are ok to eat and not poisonous berries?

I�m a bit concerned if they are poisonous b/c my toddler has taken an active interest in the bush and looking at the "blueberries". We�ve been trying to pick them and trim the bush (but so far have not eaten any of them).

Comments (9)

• speedster1
    9 years ago

I'm no expert but they certainly look like blueberries to me. Both berry and leaf. I can be pretty stupid sometimes so I'd just take a tiny bite of one and see if it taste like blueberries. If it does then I'd be eating them.. If it doent taste like blueberries spit it back out and take some to your local extension office. They could probably shed some light.

• ericwi
    9 years ago

Those are blueberry shrubs. To be certain, you can watch the shrub, and see how it behaves across an entire year. It will have bell shaped white flowers in the spring, likely in April. The small green berries will gradually get larger, and begin to turn varying shades of red and blue. When the fruit is black/blue all over, it is ripe, and ready to pick. The interior will be creamy color, only the skin is blue. In the fall, the leaves will turn red, and in December, they will fall off the shrub.

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    9 years ago

We have native blueberries here called Huckleberry, you may have something similar. They are good to eat. Al

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7