Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
allenwrench_gw

Are Asian pears the king...

allenwrench
15 years ago

Are Asian pears the king when it comes to a low maintenance, easy to grow and disease resistance fruit tree?

I am new to gardening and planted 5 apple trees and 2 Asian pears and some other fruit trees. Almost everything else suffers from disease especially the apples. Asian pears seem to be the dream tree when it comes to low disease. But maybe I'm just lucky with my 2 trees?

On another note - what month does the Asian pear usually become ripe enough to harvest? From what I have read they are hard to figure out when it comes to ripeness,

Comments (31)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    15 years ago

Asian pears ripen on the tree just like apples. So it is not hard to tell when they are ripe. By and large they are ripe when they taste ripe. I suppose there are some, like some apples, that need a period after picking for best quality. If so, I haven't grown any of them.

It is your regular pears that must be picked "green" and ripened off the tree. They will not mature properly on the tree. Pick them when the seeds turn dark.

My main complaint with Asian pears is they need a lot of thinning and it can be very tedious. The fruit is hidden in very thick foliage. Also some of mine cracked when it rained this yr. Bad cracks, had to pull that fruit. If it rains too much the fruit can be watery and not very sweet. But properly grown Asians can be very good.

The Fruitnut

• denninmi
    15 years ago