Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mpoland33

Raised Strawberry

mpoland33
10 years ago

I am starting my strawberry patch over and want to get everyone's opinion. I am in the process of making a raised corner patch with one section on the ground, one raised, and one smaller raised above that.

What would be the latest I could plant them this year for a crop next year?

What type of strawberry plants would you recommend? What variety?

Would you recommend different ones for different levels of the patch?

Comments (6)

• lsoh
    10 years ago

I am not an expert. There are others on this forum who know more than me. There are others who grow more efficiently and effectively.

I have a tiny area for strawberries. I have 4 varieties that ripen in succession (they do overlap.) This spreads out my harvest. This year for example, I harvested from 6/4 through 6/30. (The last couple of days were weak.) Due to my limited space, each of my varieties is planted in a 37"x45" rectanglar clump. Except for the last couple of days, I usually harvest enough for 3 good size servings of strawberries per day.

If instead of fresh eating, your focus is on making jam or freezing them, then having all of your berries ripen at one time might be a good idea. In that case,you might want to stick with a single variety.

If you want to extend your harvest period for fresh eating, and if you have enough space to yield the amount you are looking for, then multiple varieties that ripen at slightly different times might be a good choice.

For reference, check out Nourse Farms: http://noursefarms.com/category/strawberries/
    Their website lists strawberry varieties as early, early middle, middle, late middle, or late, according to relative to ripening times. If you have enough space for each variety to yield the quantity you want, you could pick an early variety, a middle variety, and a late variety.