Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mommomsgarden

Strawberries on the horizon...

mommomsgarden
10 years ago

I am only a beginner gardener. And I planted my strawberries in the wrong spot...they are not growing...blocked by too much shade... you think it would be okay to dig up the strawberries and put them in a pot?

Comments (5)

• ltilton
    10 years ago

Yes. Strawberries do well in pots.

• dmtaylor
    10 years ago

I think my strawberries did even better in pots than they are doing in the ground. Just keep them watered every day or two -- they like it wet.

• lawanddisorder
    10 years ago

Agreed.

I have moved strawberries numerous times in a single season before without much problem. If you can get all/most of the roots, you shouldn't have any problem at all.

They might look really weak (droopy and browned leaves)for a few days, but should bounce back quickly.

After transplanting, you might want to leave the pot in a less shady, but not full sun location for a few days before moving it into full sun, assuming that's where you will ultimately put it. Suddenly moving them from shade to full sun could stress them out, and the combo of transplant and sudden increase in sun could be unnecessarily problematic. Transplant now, then gradually move them into full sun in a week or so if you want to be extra careful.

Also, once established, most (maybe all) varieties will spread like crazy, so you may want to consider that when determining pot size and number of plants per pot.

• mommomsgarden
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you all so much my other question is what kind of soil should I put in the pot

• bob_z6
    10 years ago