Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cfox248

Cherry tree: What should I expect/prepare for disease wise?

cfox248
9 years ago

So I mentioned in a previous post of mine I bought a cherry tree! A North Star cherry, to be exact. I have had some experience with finicky plants as I grow potted citrus (And the last half year has been problem after problem with my Meyer lemon!) but from what I've heard I'm in for a challenge.

My question: The North Star will be potted. For a few years, at least. I am preparing to have to fight off any kind of fungus or mildew, which I hear they are prone to. Is there something I can buy to spray the tree in the spring as a preemptive strike against disease? To prevent, rather than treat. Are cherry diseases actually that common that I'll be fighting one off every summer?

Thanks for any input!

Comments (8)

• skyjs
    9 years ago

Biggest factor is where do you live?
    John S
    PDX OR

• cfox248
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Sorry. I live in Minnesota, riiiiight on the line of zone 3 and 4 in the Twin Cities.

• franktank232
    9 years ago

brown rot --- brown rot -- brown rot ... that will be the biggest issue. Then you had birds, plum curculio, and powdery mildew. This year has been horrible on everything. Too much rain. Sours don't seem to crack (i have Evans/North Star).

• cfox248
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I can deal with birds, at least. anything I can do to preemptively spray for brown rot? An antifungal with copper? Any brand recommendations? Powdery mildew at least is easy enough to get rid of with a spray.

A google search tells me that Plum Curculio is a bug. Are they controlled easily enough with blasting with the hose when I water? Mites and aphids can sometimes be controlled that way. Otherwise I have neem and horticultural oil?

• cfox248
    Original Author
    9 years ago