Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ottk2007

First Timer--Growing Blackberries

ottk2007
10 years ago

Let me just say up front that I have little to no knowledge about gardening and am currently kind of feeling my way around and trying to read a lot. I know there are LOTS of experts here, so I thought it might be better (and quicker) to ask the experts...you!

I love blackberries and don't buy them due to the cost, so I thought I would grow my own. I brought two small blackberry plants home from a garden center and transplanted them in my raised bed. They both got a few blackberries and then actually started looking a little "wilty". I babied them a little bit and now they look very good. The leaves are very green and hearty looking. Yeah!! When I bought the plants, they were described as thornless bushes, but as you can see from the pictures, they are growing like vines with branches shooting out everywhere--seemingly straight out from the main plant. Is this normal? Should I cage them? Stake them? Trellis them? I did not think a bush was supposed to grow like a vine. But, then again, what do I know...nothing. :-)

Thank you for your help!
P.S. I live outside of Tampa, Florida.

Karen

Comments (14)

• gator_rider2
    10 years ago

They sprawl outward first year next year new growth be straight up I would tie what there more upright something like tomato cage work this first year. Your plant looks like a Arapaho if is it be erect once get going. Blackberries are heavy feeder mean take often fertilizing once a month until next year. Don't fertilize when fruit on bush it run taste berries. If grows 7 foot tall by November stop fertilizer until good blossom forum next year fertilize then and after fruit harvest. You need grow long canes because low chill hours in Tampa Florida. That plant will take over your raised bed later years.

• bamboo_rabbit
    10 years ago