Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tobemeghan

What's wrong with my Elberta peach tree (peaches don't grow)

tobemeghan
10 years ago

I have a Elberta peach tree that is full sized. Every year for the past couple of years it fruits beautifully and I have dreams of having my own peaches. However, the peaches never grow! They are the same size now that they were in May (shooter marble sizer or slightly bigger). The tree is healthy, fertilized (straw and manure from the cows pen) and watered but nothing.

Any thoughts?

Comments (16)

• tobemeghan
    Original Author

I thinned them a bit, may not as aggressively as a should have. Last year, however, half of the blossoms got frosted (half of the tree was protected, the other half wasn't) and the same problem. How many peaches should be together in the little "bunch"?

• tobemeghan
    Original Author

I am new to fruit and I just hate thinning, seems like I am wasting so I obviously didn't do so aggressively enough and ruined what would have been a great harvest (the weather has been great even have been getting rain). Could kick myself now!

Thanks for the info ladies and gents.

• tobemeghan
    Original Author

I thinned them a bit, may not as aggressively as a should have. Last year, however, half of the blossoms got frosted (half of the tree was protected, the other half wasn't) and the same problem. How many peaches should be together in the little "bunch"?

• tobemeghan
    Original Author

I am new to fruit and I just hate thinning, seems like I am wasting so I obviously didn't do so aggressively enough and ruined what would have been a great harvest (the weather has been great even have been getting rain). Could kick myself now!

• tobemeghan
    Original Author

• tobemeghan
    Original Author

• tobemeghan
    Original Author

• tobemeghan
    Original Author

• tobemeghan
    Original Author

• tobemeghan
    Original Author

• rayrose
    10 years ago

Did you thin them?

• mrsg47
    10 years ago