Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lauriedutch

Peach tree -- borers? leaf curl?

lauriedutch
14 years ago

Hi,

The leaves on our Reliance peach tree (planted Sept 2008) are dying and there is something red oozing out the bottom of the trunk.

In the attached photo showing the leaves, does it look like leaf curl, or can you think of another cause? I don't know what leaf curl is, have just heard it mentioned here.

I placed moth balls around the trunk as the red oozing stuff and location fits the description of borers that I read about in this forum. Can someone let me know if the wound looks like it is caused by borers?

Any suggestions how to help the tree with these things?

Thanks.

This is my first attempt at attaching photos here, so am trying to include two photos in a few different ways. I hope they display.

borers?

http://i884.photobucket.com/albums/ac45/LaurieDutch/Peachtreeborerstmp01.jpg

[IMG]http://i884.photobucket.com/albums/ac45/LaurieDutch/Peachtreeborerstmp01.jpg[/IMG]

leaf curl?

http://i884.photobucket.com/albums/ac45/LaurieDutch/Peachtreecurltmp01.jpg

[IMG]http://i884.photobucket.com/albums/ac45/LaurieDutch/Peachtreecurltmp01.jpg[/IMG]

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:120379}}

Comments (9)

• Michael
    14 years ago

Laurie: I can't see the trunk very well as the pic is too small for me to have a clue. Borers wouldn't be out of the question. I think others have suggested getting a very stiff, very small wire and prodding around for a hole and tunnell that a borer would be excavating. If you find the tunnel, prod the borer to death. If you are really good, you can even get the little bugger pulled out of the hole if the wire has barbs nicked into it. I am not the expert on this topic.

Michael

• lauriedutch
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Here's another photo. This is a closeup of the area. For size perspective, the white ball in the mulch is a moth ball.