Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I need large pots for all my fruit trees

Posted by MogfruitTrees none (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 28, 13 at 15:20

I have bought about 15 fruit trees from home depot in the last two years. I bought them large pots from home depot but I fear they have been root bound for some time now. I see very large pots made out of wood that I would love to make for my trees. Does anyone know how to make these? Anywhere I can order cheap pots? Any help is appreciated, thanks in advance...

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I need large pots for all my fruit trees

I too bought trees and potted them. I found that the round tubs with rope handles work well for pots. My son drilled holes in the bottom and they were very cheap compared to actual pots. The downside is that they are not UV protected and will disintegrate more quickly, but I have been using some of mine for 5 years. If you decide to do this try to get the softest plastic you can find. I can't see what kind of plastic mine are but they feel like a laundry basket and they say, "crush and dent resistant". I have seen some lately that are brittle and they will just split when drilled.

Your other option is to contact landscaping companies. I was able to buy quite a few used large pots from a landscaping tree nursery at much less than half price of new.

o

if you have any farmers or ranchers around see if they have some cattle lick tubs , they are aprox 25 gal or so. I get all I want for free. Just drill a few holes around the bottom and you are good to go

o

I've been using the plastic tubs with the "rope" handles as well, although for berries, not trees. My local Ace Hardware always has an early Summer sale on them ($5 each!).

I agree that you want the softer plastic and I also recommend a rub-down of the exterior with Armor All twice a year--more often if you live in a climate with intense sun.

o

You could order them at Groworganic.com,