Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gltrap54

[ Pics] Crenshaw Issue [Pics]

gltrap54
11 years ago

I have several nice sized crenshaw melons that aren't showing any sign of ripening, some are even getting sun burned..... These were planted (in late April) as transplants. This is my first year of growing them & my search hasn't produced any info on this ripening issue......

{{gwi:120801}}

{{gwi:120803}}

{{gwi:120805}}

Comments (11)

• denninmi
    11 years ago

Well, they take much longer than muskmelons. Burpee Early Hybrid is rated at 90 days, and traditional crenshaws are rated at around 110 days.

Sunburn is a distinct possibility during the hottest year in decades for anyone east of the Continental Divide. Also, the melons in the photos aren't nearly big enough to ripen, they have more growing to do. Have they had adequate moisture?

• gltrap54
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks denninmi! Prolly haven't given them enough time.... NE Kansas is very much east of the Continental Divide & we're very warm! My drip system runs 4 hours every other day in soil that's well balanced river bottom black dirt & compost. Everything else in the garden seems moist enough. I think I'll put a low tunnel over my melons using Agribon 15 to avoid some of this sunburn..... Watermelons look fine..

• ltilton
    11 years ago

My galias have gotten sunburn, too, if they stick up out of the foliage. Covering them is a good idea.

• carolync1
    11 years ago

Crenshaws DO get sunscald very easily. You can drape a piece of cheap fabric over the melons and secure the corners against wind using the stems of the vines if you don't have another means of covering them.