Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mark_roeder_gw

Hardy Peach Tree; Recommendations?

I am new to peach trees. I bought a Reliance three years ago and it produced about one-dozen fruit this year. The fruit is very good.

I would like to try a different variety to extend the season.

Recommendations for other hardy varieties are desired. Thanks.

Comments (25)

• troman1973
    16 years ago

I would try Contender. I am in my second year with two of them growing in North Dakota. I didnt get any fruit this year, but hopefully next year!

• mark_roeder 4B NE Iowa
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Troman1973:

I found your post from this spring and see you had a peach on the tree then. What happened to it? Be patient. My Reliance was in its third year before it produced its first flowers and its first peaches. It had a lot more flowers than peaches this year. So I want a second variety which I think may help pollination on each tree a bit.

I was considering Red Haven. Now I am considering Contender more carefully.

The best peaches I have consumed were from Alabama, variety not known. But, I was very surprised how juicy and tasty is a Reliance peach. It is very nearly as good as the fresh peaches from Alabama. I had thought from what I read that Reliance was not so tasty as far as peaches are concerned, and I now have personal experience and can say Reliance is great.

I still want a second variety. I need a late-blooming variety because it is the late frost that kills the crop here in Iowa. I want to extend the peach harvesting season. I would like another peach variety for comparison.

• mark_roeder 4B NE Iowa
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Don, thanks for replying. Was hoping to hear from you as I have read many posts on peaches from you.