Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
dwarf vs standard apple saplings- how to tell the difference

Posted by ridgescool PA (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 29, 12 at 19:58

I am new to grafting apple trees, but had about a 60% success rate on the 25 I did this spring. I have several apple saplings growing that are of unknown rootstock that I plan on grafting next spring. They were 'volunteers' from a place that makes cider and throws the squeezings into a heap. Of the 20 growing, about half, are twice as tall as the others an have few branches shooting out. The other half are almost bushy, with many small branches shooting out on all side.
I am thinking that the shorter ones with all the branches are of more dwarf roostock origin than the others. Can anyone confirm this or give advice as to how to tell the difference?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: dwarf vs standard apple saplings- how to tell the difference

Do you mean the saplings grew from seeds left over in the squeezing? I would think they were all standard types. If they grew from seeds from standard apples.

o