Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arsmith86

Strawberries, tiny and rotting quickly

arsmith86
10 years ago

We recently purchased a home, and the previous owner left us a half-finished raised bed garden. One of the beds has TONS of strawberry plants in it. Unfortunately, I think they are too thick, because the berries were rotting when we moved in, and after plucking all of the rotten berries, I've come to realize they are rotting before they are even the size of a penny.

I am a total strawberry newbie, and have no clue how to go about thinning these to make them grow and produce better. I am not sure what type they are for sure, but I do know that I notice new berries here and there every day to every other day, though the production is extremely low. I check the info card for the berries (that they luckily left), and it says their bloom is in the spring, if that helps. The photo is about a 4 foot by 4 foot square bed.

Comments (6)

• ltilton
    10 years ago

What the name of the variety? Some people prefer very small strawberries as being more sweet.

• arsmith86
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The only thing on the little insert they have nailed to the bed says is "Strawberries, Fragaria spp." and then it has the bloom time and water/sun instructions. I do know that the berries themselves don't really get that large (maybe the size of a fifty cent piece, at best), and they are very sweet. But they are rotting before they get dime or penny size and are still half green. I'm sure they need to be thinned out...but I am not sure how thin to make them, or how to really go about it. I don't want to destroy the strawberry bed (we've been trying to grow strawberries in a container, unsuccessfully) because clearly they are well established. I'm not concerned with getting another good production this year, but I want to get them ready for a nice big production next spring/summer.

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago