Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fish042099

Apple tree disease

fish042099
9 years ago

I'm a total newbie to apple trees and orchards, I bought this tree (its an empire apple) on sale at home depot. I recently noticed this disease on the leaves, I posted a pic. Any ideas on what it is and how to treat it??? Thanks

Comments (8)

• appleseed70
    9 years ago

I'm not the most experienced guy here by a longshot, so wait until others chime in. Even though you took a great photo I'd like to see more to be 100% sure.
    Having said that I would say it is almost certainly Apple Scab. It is caused by a fungus and is a serious thing. The most prescribed treatment for it would be spraying with myclobutanil ( a fungicide) most commonly sold in stores under the trade name Immunox.(manuf. by Spectracide) Home depot will likely have this on their shelves (Lowe's does) most often sold as a concentrate in a 16 oz. bottle. Spray to runoff getting both the top and bottom of the leaf surfaces. I even spray the trunk and branches.
    Empire is a variety that is HIGHLY susceptible to scab and is well known as such. It's a shame because I like Empire.
    It looks like it's still in the pot. If it is, I'd return it. If HD is like Lowe's they have a return policy that allows for this on fruit trees. You won't gain much by getting it in the ground this late in the year anyway.
    After getting your money back go online and order a good bareroot tree from a good nursery.