Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help with blueberry - leaves turning brown

Posted by vancouverwa 8 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 3, 14 at 20:50

Hi! I am a new gardener. This is my first year really into the hobby and I need some help please. I live in Clark County, Washington about 4 miles from Portland, OR.

This is a Darrow blueberry that I planted in a raised bed. The soil is approx 25% sand, 50% loam and 25% compost. The bed is about 20 inches high. I put the raised bed soil in last fall and I added sulfur to drop the ph level. I planted the bush in Feb/Mar of this year (can't remember exactly). I fertilized three times (following Oregon State Univ extension advice for timing and amount) with a 16-0-0 fertilizer.

This plant was doing alright, but I noticed today that a bunch of leaves are turning brown. I have been watering it with a soaker hose - trying to water when it was about 3 inches dry from the top of the soil.

I noticed over a month ago that my blueberries (I have 4 in the raised bed) had small little cuts in the leaves. The other blues (Spartan and Blueray) have red veins and today I found some aphids on a Spartan that is about 12 feet away.

Today I noticed that the plant had a bunch of dry brown spots on it. What would cause this? What should I do? I have attached photos.

Any help would be appreciated. I am a newbie and I want these plants to last for many decades and I feel like I'm fumbling around here.

Thanks a bunch!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help with blueberry - leaves turning brown

Another photo (Is there a way to attach more than one photo to a post?)

o

Another

o

Another

o

Another

o

This is a photo of the red veins on a Blueray that is about 3 feet from the Darrow that is turning brown. Is this a problem? Do the red veins indicate anything?

o