Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
captainargo

Fruit for the Shade

captainargo
13 years ago

Hey folks :)

I'm a gardening newbie, but I've got some space in the fenced-in back yard of a condo and I've become excited about the prospect of growing a garden. Since there is nothing quite like ripe fruit, I would very much like to grow a couple of small fruit trees. However, I'm not quite sure what I can do with my growing conditions.

My situation is thus:

- I live in coastal SoCal (San Diego, specifically -- Zone 10b, I believe)

- I likely have room for only 2 small trees.

- My yard gets shade (a bit dappled) through most of the mid-day from some large deciduous trees, though some parts of it get direct sun in the morning and afternoon.

I had planned to get a dwarf Eureka lemon tree (all-year fruiting!) and give it the sunniest spot in the yard, but I would also like to grow something that I can pick and eat. Are there any such warm-weather fruits I can grow in partial sun, or should I go another direction?

Comments (18)

• alan haigh
    13 years ago

In your climate you can probably get excellent Japanese plums in the location you describe. The best Elephant Heart plums I've ever tasted were from a tree I had in about 80% shade here in southeastern NY. Liked them so much I put a tree in full sun and it's never done nearly as well (too many pitch pockets).

I have no idea what variety would do best in San Diego, although Satsuma is one that would do well. There are so many new ones bred for high sugar including the Zeiger pluots that might do nicely. Some are self-fertile or at least self fruiting.

• alabamanicole
    13 years ago

In your climate (and I used to live in So Cal), part sun is easily equivalent to full sun for many plants. Even citrus can do fine with some shade; it loves the So Cal climate.