Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
saki7a

Why isn't my blackberry bush growing?

saki7a
9 years ago

I planted a blackberry bush in late May. The plant looks healthy, but it is only slightly larger today than it was when I put it in the ground two months ago and the canes are still very small. Also, it has not flowered or borne much fruit. (See photo.)

I water it regularly (about 1" per week), have covered the ground with mulch, and give it some miracle-gro plant food approximately once very 3-4 weeks.

I am a novice gardener, so any suggestions would be very welcome. Thanks.

This post was edited by sakih on Sun, Aug 3, 14 at 1:49

Comments (8)

• don555
    9 years ago

Those canes that you have today... they won't produce any fruit this year but they will be your fruiting canes next year.

Blackberries put up new canes each year, which flower the following year, then die (but are replaced by new canes, which fruit the following year, and so on).

The canes your plant puts up next year (2015) will be MUCH bigger than the canes you have currently, but won't fruit until 2016.

This year your plant is just establishing a good root system and basically getting ready for next year, as next year will be its first full year in your garden.

When your plant produces fruit next year, don't pick the berries as soon as they turn black or you will disappointed as they will be sour. Leave them on the canes for an extra day or two until they get softer and lose their shininess and become a kind of a dull black.... yummmmmm!

• saki7a
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the quick and helpful reply. I had read that blackberries only fruit on 2-year old canes, but I hadn't realized that the canes wouldn't grow to full size the first year. I'm relieved to know that my plant isn't diseased!