Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hkg1

Suggestion on grape varieties for Southern California

hkg1
16 years ago

Hi,

I have no experience in growing grapes (and a beginner in gardening) but very interested in growing 2 to 3 grape vines in my backyard. I love grapes with red or blue skin that are small to medium size, sweet fruit with low acid and thin skin.

I live in Southern California (zone 10) with very dry summer and very mild winter (low is seldom below 40F). The place where I am planning to put my grape vines have morning and early afternoon sun (probably up to 3 pm).

I looked at many nurseries in my area ~ they normally carry Flame and Thompson seedless. But the plants I saw in the nurseries do not look very healthy to me ~ with yellowish leaves and brown spots on them. I am not sure if my area is just too hot for grapes so any advice would be really appreciated.

I am interested in Kyoho since I liked the flavor very much. But I am not sure if Kyoho would do well in my climate ~ I think it came from Japan. Does anyone have any experience in growing them in climate similar to mine? Also can anyone suggest other varieties that have similar flavor and grows well in my climate?

I am totally new to this so I would really appreciate any advice.

Comments (9)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    16 years ago

First of all, you are not too hot for any grape. They grow grapes in the Coachella Valley. So grapes are about as heat tolerant as any fruit.

I have no experience with Kyoko. And your criteria are somewhat unusual in that you seem to prefer small berries. But that aside my favorite grapes(all seedless) from earliest to latest are Flame, Summer Royal, Princess, Autumn Royal, and Crimson Seedless. These ripen from July to October in the San Joaquin Valley. The lower acid varieties are Flame, Princess, and Crimson. Small berries are Flame, and the old favorite, Thompson.

So for small berries: Flame and Thompson. For larger berries and more flavor Summer Royal.