Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
2010champsbcs

This is a Blackberry lovers dream

2010champsbcs
9 years ago

This is a Blackberry lovers dream. Ripe seven days before Natchez and again in September-October. I just finished watching the video by John R Clark. Those were what his comments indicated about the Prime Ark Freedom. If these blackberries pan out they can fulfill one of my desires in that I would like to be able to pick fresh berries from June through late October. I have no experience with the Prime Ark varieties. Are my expectations too high? Placed my order today and they are expected to arrive next week. Excited as a mature berry grower can be. All comments are welcome.

Comments (66)

• c5tiger
    9 years ago

I have 1 Prime Jan and 2 Ark 45 blackberries that I have had for two years. This was my first floricane crop and it was very good and about a week or two ahead of my other Arkansas blackberries. Last fall I had a decent fall crop due to a cool wet summer. This year has been hot and is still hot, calling for mid to high 90s all of next week. So far the fall crop has been very light. The plants are growing nicely but very little blooms, hope that changes as the weather cools.

For me the primocane yield is less than the summer yield by a fair amount, maybe half. Couple that with a 3 month ripening window equals few berries per day. I am a grazer and going by eating a couple berries a day suits me just fine. Don't expect to pick a gallon of berries at a time in the fall like you do in the summer unless you have a lot of plants.

• 2010champsbcs
    Original Author
    9 years ago