Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mes111

Fall Fertilization

mes111
9 years ago

This year my young trees still grew very very well.

Most will be going into their third year in the ground and I not fertilized since planting but they were planted into a good soil.

What if anything should I do this fall in preparation for next year.

Thanx
Mike

Comments (21)

• mrgreengenes
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I have been caring for bonsai trees for the past 12 years and I wouldn't recommend fertilizing trees in the fall.

Trees are not like your lawn which can store the nitrogen in it's roots.

If you fertilize your trees now you will be chemically telling your trees to grow grow grow when the seasons are signaling for your trees to prepare for sleep(winter).

If you fertilize your trees now you run the risk of killing them.

If you intend to fertilize your trees your should consider fertilizing in the spring after the tree has leafed out and during the growing season but stop short of fertilizing in fall.

I personally like to feed my trees fish emulsion which has all the major and micro nutrients. If you follow the suggested formulation with water it is nearly impossible to over do it.

I wouldn't recommend using lawn fertilizer as it is too high in nitrogen and has to little phosphorous and potash.

You can also try mulching around your trees which will improve your soil in the long run.

• alan haigh
    9 years ago

No, fall fertilization doesn't stimulate late growth that delays hardening off- even very late summer fertilization doesn't, but the myth lives on. I've included a link on the subject. Maybe mid-summer excessive N is dangerous but I haven't seen research on that one way or the other.