Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
puglvr1

Feijoa...Pineapple guava

puglvr1
13 years ago

Hi, I'm hoping that someone can tell me how long it takes for feijoa(pineapple guava) to ripen...how many months(appx)? Finally something good came out of a very cold winter for us in Florida(broke 30 yr record lows)and my feijoa bush seems to be holding a few fruits for the very first time since I planted it almost four years ago...although my larger tree had tons of blooms...NOT one single fruit set on that one. Thanks for any help!

These fruits set around mid to late June...they're about the size of a large globe grapes right now.

{{gwi:122527}}
You can't hardly see them (not too many) but they hide very well...fruits being the same color as the leaves.

{{gwi:122528}}

This large tree had tons of blooms...not a single fruit set :o(...any ideas why this one didn't set any fruits?

{{gwi:122529}}

Comments (14)

• pylot
    13 years ago

I'm not a feijoa expert but I believe that lack of fruit and lots of flowers means pollination issues. Maybe the smaller tree is somewhat self fertile (some feijoas are). I think there is some controversy on whether bees or birds pollinate them. I suggest that next year you hand pollinate each tree with pollen from the other.

Of course, it could be something else entirely, like not enough water. Most feijoas on the market are not bred for fruit, it is considered a landscape tree and somewhat drought tolerant at that.

So yeah, next year I would make sure it has enough water and hand pollinate, and hope for the best.

• girlbug2
    13 years ago

Several feijoas grown around here as landscape trees, but nonetheless they all seem to set fruit. I noticed last year that they flowered in late May and ripened in November.

You'll know when they're ripe as they fall from the trees and have a very strong aroma.

• larry_gene
    13 years ago

Hi puglvr1, I just looked up some pictures of your feijoa plant in your yard you sent me 4 years ago.