Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hoosierquilt

Best Pear Varieties for S. California

Okay, so I'm going to ask: What would be the best pear varieties for my low chill hours here in S. California? I'm considering Moonglow and Seckel. Moonglow needs a cross-pollinator, hopefully Seckel will be acceptable. They appear to produce at about the same time, so hopefully they flower at relatively the same time. I need a pear or two that will produce with lower chill hours, is fire-blight resistant, prefer low-grit and will stay relatively compact so I don't have to do extensive pruning to keep it small (but I'm armed and dangerous with my Felcos, so that's the least requirement.) Thanks for any suggestions you can give me.

Patty S.

Comments (23)

• scaper_austin
    12 years ago

I would be surprised if Southern California gave enough chill for MG or Seckle. I'm no expert on SoCal climate though. I'd bet youd do better with somthing like Hood or Monterey that is much lower chill. Also, A nursery in Florida called Just fruits and exotics carries some really neat sounding varieties that are low chill. I dont have any experience with them but they sound good.

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Well, that's what folks are growing around here, and what our nurseries carry, scaper. So they must do okay. But, I'll certainly check out Just Fruits & Exotics and see what they've got.

Patty S.

• alan haigh
    12 years ago

S.CA had a Bartlett pear industry years ago- presumably in the interior at least a bit. One advantage to that climate is that most pears will bare parthenocarpically there and need no pollinator. A neat little factoid I read years ago in Childers "Fruit Science".