Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
northerner_on

Need help growing melons

northerner_on
9 years ago

This is my first time growing melons - 3 varieties: Mini honeydew and sugar cube (seeds from trades) and sugar baby (Burpee seeds). The plants have been flowering for more than a month and each of these plants have started small fruit which have eventually turned black and dropped off. I assume they have been pollinated because there are cucucmbers, zucchinis, and butternuts nearby which are producing healthy produce. The plants are on a trellis, look quite healthy, and get bout 6 hours direct sunlight each day. Are there certain viruses to which these smaller varieties are susceptible? I am way up north, with a very short growing season, so these are my only options. Any advice would be welcome. Thank you.

Comments (8)

• danzeb
    9 years ago

How small were the fruit when they dropped off? Sounds like poor pollination,

• northerner_on
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for your inquiry Danzeb. The little melons which fell off were about the size of a pea, but what I have noticed is that there have been no more in the past week. In addition, my butternut vines do not have any fruit which have survived so I think it has something to do with poor or no pollination. I grow Agastache each year, and usually at this time of year it is filled with bees, painted ladies, and swallowtails but this year there are a few bees and I saw only one swallowtail so far. I have parsley and and dill in the garden for them and lots of flowers, but no monarchs or hummingbirds. My garden is pesticide-free, so I don't know what is going on. I will keep watching and see if anything turns up.

• rayrose
    9 years ago

Six hours of sunlight is not enough to grow melons.
    They need full all day sun.

• northerner_on
    Original Author
    9 years ago