Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chris_crab

Grafting a Peach tree

chris_crab
9 years ago

I have a peach tree that I was told in an earlier post that it's probably not going to make it. The question I have if you can't tell from the title is can I cut this tree back and have some new healthy branches grafted onto it? I have no experience in this so if this is a ridiculous question I apologize. Also, if it is possible is there anyone in SW Michigan that could help me do this? I was told by a local greenhouse owner/farmer that peach trees don't live very long anyway so I should probably just cut it down and start some new trees. Any assistance on any of these questions/issues will be greatly appreciated.

Comments (6)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    9 years ago

No don't bother with that tree it's nothing but firewood. The roots will be dead or nearly so next spring after a summer with so little foliage. Much better to just buy a new tree of a proven variety and plant it next spring. There is no future in your current tree.

• nyRockFarmer
    9 years ago

I had an apricot die a slow death this year. I didn't cut it down because it was still green under the bark and the plum roots looked good. I wanted to see if it would come out of its coma. Just a few weeks ago, however, the roots suddenly started to sucker profusely. As expected, the tree was now dry and fungus was starting to grow on the bark at the base. I wish I had just cut the thing down in spring to give the roots enough time to replenish energy from the suckers. Now I have to hope it will have enough sucker time to survive the winter.

• chris_crab
    Original Author
    9 years ago