Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pakclt

New to GA, need HELP!

pakclt
11 years ago

I am fairly new to GA and I am on the Mayor's committee for starting a Community Garden, because I own a 15 acre organic farm back in Indiana, which grows produce for the poor.

It is my intention to donate some fruit trees and berry plants to the garden, but I don't know what are the best varieties or the best plant sources in my area (Or catalogs online).

Specifically, which is the best tasting, easiest to grow PEACHES and apples, pear, plums, grapes, raspberries, etc. I grew Caroline raspberries back home and they were wonderful, but I don't know if they are good for this area (SE of Atlanta)

I intend to grow Granny Smith apples, but desperately need help on the rest.

Thank you for your kind attention to this matter.

Pat

Comments (7)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    11 years ago

Pat, what a wonderful project to tackle! We did this when I lived in Indiana (Goshen), and created a beautiful quilt garden as well as a community garden that us Master Gardeners tended. Most of the produce went to soup kitchens, and some we MG's kept. I would strongly suggest you contact your local Master Gardener's in the Atlanta area and see if they would also be willing to assist you with your project. the Master Gardeners are associated with your local extension office, so you'll have tremendous support, both in picking correct varieties for your area, as well as possibly some manpower.

Here is a link that might be useful: Central Fulton County MG Association

• strudeldog_gw
    11 years ago

Pat,