Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jonfrum

Harvesting cape gooseberry

jonfrum
10 years ago

This is my first year growing cape gooseberry, and I just thought I'd put some info on this site. I've seen people ask when to harvest them. When the berry forms, the husk starts out light green, and then changes to yellow. At that time, they usually aren't fully ripe, even if they've fallen off the plant. When the husk loses its color and dries out, then the berry is usually ripe. You can wait for them to fall off the plant, or you can lightly shake the branches to make them fall. When you take off the husks, you'll see that not all are perfectly yellow. Sort out the bright yellow ripe ones from those with a greenish tint, and let the others ripen - they will.

For those interested in growing cape gooseberries, mine have stayed low to the ground, but they extend about five feet in diameter. If you can't bend over easily, you probably don't want to deal with this crop.

Comments (5)

• carolync1
    10 years ago

I grew ground cherries ('Pineapple) for the first time this year. Plants were slow to get started, then took off. I grew them in a container. Worked fine. You need more than one plant. Three plants in a ten-gallon container could give you fruit for casual use. You can spread a cloth under the pot to catch falling fruits. My plants have stopped bearing and were blanching at the tips. I don't know if this was related to our very hot weather.

I've cut them back to about 5 inches in hopes of getting some fruit for fall, since they are supposed to store at room temperature for some time. I'm getting some new growth.

Seedy little fruits. The crunchy seeds remind me of figs, thought the seeds are smaller. A novelty more than a serious crop in my estimation.

• olympia_gardener
    10 years ago