Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
esyke623_gw

Starting blueberries

esyke623
11 years ago

Hi-- I am brand new to blueberry growing, so I am starting with a few "test" bushes. I have done some reading, but I have read a lot of conflicting information. I'm hoping someone out there can share what works for you. I'm dealing with heavily clay soil in VA (which I'm guessing isn't acidic enough). I will be planting on a hill, as all the flat ground seems to hold standing water (perhaps because of the clay?). I thought I should dig a wide hole about a foot deep, and place a mixture of sphagnum moss, potting soil, and maybe coffee grounds, pine bark, or sulfure mixture to help up the acid? Again, I'm all new to this. Do you have to water them? If so, should I add some white vinegar to the water to up acidity? Any help or advice would be appreciated!

Comments (9)

• capoman
    11 years ago

Hi esyke623. You are on the right track. Your soil mix sounds good and you are aware of the drainage issues you have which will be your biggest challenge. Planting them in an amended hole is a good idea. You are also aware enough to know to plant wide. If you think there is any chance of the roots getting saturated, consider digging deeper and putting gravel and a perforated pipe (or similar) leading downhill to the surface to drain excess water at the bottom of the hole. Blueberries absolutely will not tolerate saturated roots. If your soil does get saturated and you aren't willing to put in some kind of drainage, then you may be better off with a raised bed or grow in containers.

If you do plant in ground, put several inches of acidic mulch on top to reduce the need to water.