Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kbh913

first time apple growing

kbh913
9 years ago

Hello,
I am new to the forum and would like to grow a few apple trees in our backyard. I am new to this and totally overwhelmed about the types of apple trees etc and could use some expert advise on where to start.

We live in coastal CT in zone 6B. I am looking for 1-3 trees that will produce delicious apples for fresh eating as soon as possible and fruit that can last after harvest for a while. The apples could be smaller sized or larger is fine too.

I would like something that is closer to bearing fruit than waiting for years if possible. What type do you recommend? Could I plant something now or do I have to wait until next spring? Any advice on prepping the soil or things I need to do to get the best crop the first year?

Thank you so much!!!

Comments (26)

• curtis
    9 years ago

Buy your trees as bare root from a reputable nursury. (raintree, Adams county, Stark bros, Cummins).

Gold rush on M26 rootstalk is known to produce very young. however you have to limit that early production by picking off the extra or you will stunt the trees growth. Honeycrisp can take some extra years to produce and can be a pain to grow.

Find the you-pick orchards in your area and go every 2weeks and try them, there are 2 things to try. pick and eat from the tree but also take some home and put in the fridge and try 2 weeks later. Jonathan is so-so right off the tree but very good after 2 weeks in the fridge. Jonagold is my all around favorite, but not what I would choose for an organic operation.

In the long run you will probably be most happy with semi dwarf rather then dwarf. (like M111) that gives a larger tree with a strong root system, but not the fastest way to fruit. I would much rather wait an extra year or two but then get loads of fruit from then on.

• mamuang_gw
    9 years ago