Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
limeaid222

Help, please - my melon leaves are dying

limeaid222
11 years ago

Hello - I am a novice melon-grower and my boule d'or melon leaves are dying. It starts with brownish spots that take over and the leaf becomes a shriveled, brown thing. The leaves closest to the ground went first. I uploaded a photo. Can I save my melons? Thank you!

Here is info I saw on this kind of melon: http://www.seedsavers.org/Details.aspx?itemNo=1407

Comments (14)

• gator_rider2
    11 years ago

Downy mildew on melons cubits family.

Here is a link that might be useful: Downy mildew

• mrsg47
    11 years ago

Depending upon where you live, your melons should stop growing soon. Mildew is not unusual on melon and veg leaves this time of year in the NE.

• limeaid222
    Original Author
    11 years ago

gator_rider2: thanks very much!

MrsG47: Thank you! To clarify, do you mean that I should not do anything, as this is kind of normal for the NE region and the melons will ripen well, even though all of their leaves die?

If I should indeed do something, should anyone have a suggestion as to what spray I can use or whether I should pluck off the damaged leaves, that would be appreciated!

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    11 years ago

Hopefully the melons are going to be ripe soon. I'm always fortunate if I can keep my melon vines alive until all the melons are ripe. It's usually a race to the finish. This year my vines are pretty much shot, but there are only a few melons left. I spray with fungicide and insecticide a couple of times in a season.

• mrsg47
    11 years ago

How large are the melons? They are still alive and ripening but the vines are their source of water and fertilizer. The leaves simply have the beginning of powdery mildew. Do nothing as there is not much you can do! The ripening of your melons depends upon how large they are. Where do you live?

• ltilton
    11 years ago