Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
queenb_gw

Variety of pear tree?

queenb
13 years ago

I'm trying to find out if anyone knows the name of a particular variety of pear tree I've seen growing around my part of Texas (East and Gulf coast). The trees ripen around this time of year, and make huge green, hard pears, more suitable for canning, but can be eaten raw. I've seen them in the backyards of a lot of older homes, but have never known the actual name of the variety. Some of these pears can weigh a few pounds, they get so big!

Comments (12)

• bart1
    13 years ago

I can't help with the name but european pears need to ripen off the tree. In other words, the hard green pears that you see now may turn into wonderful, juicy, soft green pears in a week or so on the counter or in the fridge.

• alexander3_gw
    13 years ago

>hard pears, more suitable for canning, but can be eaten raw

I'm not an expert, but this matches descriptions of Kieffer pears.

Alex

• queenb
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Alex, I think you're right. I managed to find some info on varieties that are grown in my area, and Kieffer and Orient pears are the two main ones that are grown around here. Kieffer pears fit the description of being big, hard, and somewhat gritty, which is what these pears are. Thanks!

• copingwithclay
    13 years ago

Were you considering to plant one of these? If so, there are some better choices that have been proven in the area. Hood, Meadows, Acres Home, Southern King, Southern Queen, and Tennosui all have better fruit, as well as good disease resistance. These can be purchased each January & February at special fruit sales that are listed at that time in the Houston newspaper website (chron.com/houstongardening/). Multiple counties in the Houston area each have these one-day events. I clipped off the tops of the 'hard, gritty, non-enjoyable pear' trees here and grafted several of these others onto them.

• gonebananas_gw
    13 years ago