Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
semaje_gw

Growing honeydew melons indoors over the winter

semaje
14 years ago

I am kinda new to this whole gardening thing, but I really like it. I took some honeydew seeds from a melon I got from the food store and planted them. A week later they sprouted. Ive had them since like July 20th. I realize this was waaaaayyy late to plant them. But anyways I have them in a 6 gallon container (theres four of em) and plan to keep them outside as long as possible. But then I will move them inside for the winter. So that brings some questions. One, will they produce fruit indoors during the winter in a heated home. And most importanly, what type of lighting do I use? I would like to use a bulb that I can just screw into a ceiling light socket.

Comments (5)

• frozen_north
    14 years ago

I've thought about growing melons indoors but have never done it.

The main problem is space. Mature melon vines are large, typically around 6-8' square. The cost of electricity to light that large an area is considerable. You would have to run a 250W halide bulb for around 12 hours a day, which would cost $10 a month where I live. You would then hope to get 4-6 fruit. Melons also require heat and do best with daytime temperatures in the high 70s or higher.

I would suggest taking a look at the hydroponic places for lights. The majority of their customers grow, um, tomatoes, yeah, tomatoes, and the cultural requirements of a tomato plant are very similar to those of a melon (Some hydroponic setups are intended for growing lettuce and culinary herbs like thyme and basil, which require less light and a somewhat different spectrum, so avoid those).

The vines are delicate so you should get some friends to help with the move if possible.