Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Do any of y'all August-prune your cherries?

Posted by meredith_e 7B Piedmont NC (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 26, 13 at 23:22

I'm pretty new to most orchard fruits, and I'm still in the first years of my trees. The cherries only went in this past spring :)

I read that August pruning might be good to avoid disease in cherries. My springs here are the worst time for disease, so it sounds like it might be a good idea.

Thoughts?

I do want to promote growth, too, because I'm still trying to get a good tree structure going. It looks like this year they mainly got their roots settled in and didn't grow very much yet. They look healthy, just not doing a whole lot yet. Would spring pruning encourage more growth than pruning now?

I have a sweet cherry, a semi-sweet (standards), and then a Carmine Jewel.

The Carmine Jewel is doing great here (even in the heat) except for some sunburnt leaves at first! I'm not worried about pruning that little guy yet, but I thought I'd tell y'all he looks happy even this far south :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Do any of y'all August-prune your cherries?

• Posted by fruitnut z7b-8a,4500ft SW TX (My Page) on
    Mon, Aug 26, 13 at 23:33

All pruning is dwarfing to some extent. Summer more so than dormant. So pruning at this point would be for tree structure. If you want more branching on cherry head it back next spring. Otherwise train the branches where you want them.

There are more complicated cherry pruning systems. Some very complicated. If you want that you need to read professional instructions. Some of it makes my head spin. But I've grown good cherries without much fuss.

o