Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
winsorw

Sweet life berry goji berry...not sweet

winsorw
9 years ago

Hello,
This is my first year growing this particular goji berry, and I got a few from different sources. The berries are not sweet and have a bitter taste. Anybody has this problem? I also have a crimson star, its fruits were not sweet the first year but no bitter taste and now they are ver delicious.
Thanks for any suggestion.

Comments (16)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    9 years ago

I was given a plant, no name. It was sweet in early summer but with little flavor. Now like yours it's just awful. Bitter astringent I don't know maybe both, yuck.

• curtis
    9 years ago

Perhaps you were tricked, like "red delicious" and "hope and change"

• greendumb
    9 years ago

I have three goji berry plants. The first berries to come out were sweet with little or no flavor. As the summer has progressed and larger and more numerous berries were produced, the results were much different.
    You have to gather about 20 or 30 to get an amount to taste.
    The taste was at best horrible and will be left for the birds.
    I will be digging them up and placing them in the compost pile
    after the berries stop producing for the birds.

• winsorw
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Greendumb, sorry to hear that your goji tastes horrible. Do you know what your variety is? The ones I planted a few years back was 'crimson star' and now they produce quite delicious berries. I gave a handful to a few people and they were amazed how good it tasted. But not for 'sweet lifeberry' that I just planted.

• jjd_z7a_nj
    9 years ago

I just ate my first 'Sweet Lifeberry" today. It was ok, kind of a cross between a very mild hot pepper and a tomato. No bitterness though.

• greendumb
    9 years ago

I purchased my Goji plants from Michigan Bulb Co.
    and no variety name was given.

• winsorw
    Original Author
    9 years ago