Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scottfsmith

Annual peach report

Scott F Smith
11 years ago

Here is my somewhat-annual peach report. I have been growing unusual peaches for about ten years now, looking for the best-tasting and easiest care backyard varieties.

--Snow Queen - all split in rain. No other nectarine split so remove this one. Another California peach bites the dust.

+Mericrest - fruits again runting very badly. Also lost nearly all due to OFM/CM in them. Since I lost so many the fruit did size up more than last year. Taste is awesome, the essence of peach. Hard to take this one out even though it has so many problems. Keep this as my only nectarine.

(++)Gold Dust - Squirrels got all of these. They know good peaches.

-Flat Wonderful - Got a reasonable sample. All had a good flavor, but too watery. Some of that slight savory/anise flavor like Rareripe. Overall not in the league to TangOs, but need to give it a few more years.

++TangOs - Very tasty and very good looking. They are less rubbery this year. Too much curc/ofm damage however, and some rot problems.

(+++)Clayton - all taken by tree devils, sigh.

++Zin Dai Jiu Bao - beautiful large cling peach with elegant aromatic subacid flavor. I think thesew peaches are designed to be picked unripe and then ripen on the counter, the one I ate on the first day was hard and bland and the one I ate three days later was a fine peach. Its not as flavorful as the best white peaches, but has a vey nice well-rounded flavor to make up for it. Definite keeper.

++Winblo - this tree is suffering from borers, fruits are small this year. Still excellent tasting, a go-to variety for ease of growing and taste.

+Ernies Choice - producing huge tasty fruits this year, not top league but still good. Large and beautiful and not very blemished. Flavor seems up a notch from past years and no mealinessthus far, unlike past years.