Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
harvestmann

bitter peaches

alan haigh
9 years ago

I have a site I manage where peaches and everything else had been especially good this year until this week when I sampled peaches from a Harcrest, Elberta, and Autumn Glo and all had a distinct and disgusting bitter taste rendering them inedible. I have these varieties growing at other sites, a couple with identical spray regimens (Indar and Pristine every two weeks since July 7th) and have not had that problem anywhere else.

In 10 previous seasons at this site peaches have always been OK. It has been a dry August but this site usually has too much water and peaches are on the bland side (but nectarines are fantastic and were again this year). I've been harvesting tasty peaches here for the previous 2 months.

My google search has been fruitless- any ideas? I have considered the relative dry conditions- but that usually leads to superior peaches.

Comments (14)

• clarkinks
    9 years ago