Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
omni_gw

Maintenance for young peach tree

Omni
11 years ago

Hello everyone. This is my first time growing a peach tree (or fruit tree in general). So far, the July Elberta peach tree has grown quite vigorously since I've planted it.

I have some questions about it, in terms of maintenance. I've been trying to find some yearly schedule/calendar on when to prune it, when to give it fertilizer, and when to use what pesticide/spray. I've heard from from the forums that its best to use some type of copper based fungicidal spray before the winter starts. Which one should I use and when? And also, is it necessary to paint the trunks white? Can I just use a white tree guard that goes around the tree trunk?

I've been overwhelemd by what the plenty of sources say. I was just wondering if someone can tell me their schedule here or point me to a simple one that works for peach trees.

Thank you!

Comments (6)

• Scott F Smith
    11 years ago

The super simple calendar for a tree that has not started bearing fruit is prune in March, spray copper/oil just as the buds swell, fertilize in April by top-dressing with compost and a handful of 5-5-5 or similar, and mulch with wood chips out to the canopy size sometime in spring.

During the growing season there is not much to do until the tree bears fruit. Once it starts bearing you will have a load of work and challenges. Do water the tree in dry spells.

In the fall if the tree got some disease such as bacterial spot during the summer, spray copper again just after the leaves have fallen.

There is probably no need to paint trunks white in the mid-atlantic, that is for sunnier places. I would not recommend tree guards as they can be home for pests.