Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
windfall_rob

Judging ripeness of cider apples?

windfall_rob
10 years ago

So this year my browns apple and my Kingston black finally have decent crops.
The browns is supposed to be a mid season apple...comparable to say honey crisp, which would put it two weeks out or so.
The Kingston black is a late seaon apple and should be more like mid October.

And yet, the browns has been dropping fruit steady for the last week plus...perhaps as much as a third of the total crop. They are nicely colored but the seeds are only half dark. Taste is ok, but I have no real experience evaluating cider apples and do not expect them to taste good off the tree. Normally if I see dropping like this one is I assume its time is come, but those seeds....

The Kingston black is holding its fruit for the most part. A few large ones have dropped. And those seeds are fully colored, but the fruit is holding quite firm.

My problem is that I really will need the full crop from the browns to press enough to fill out my carboy. I have been keeping the drops, but their life is going to be limited in this heat. I am tempted to pick the tree clean this weekend and crush the load. Even then it may be marginal for a full batch, and i am tempted to pick the small crop on the Kingston black to fill it out....but are they ripe?

Any insight or experience on judging the ripeness of English cider apples appreciated.

Comments (4)

• Scott F Smith
    10 years ago

Good cider apples should taste good except they could be too bitter. The texture can be bad so ignore that. Browns Apple is a big one and my guess is you are getting early drops due to the load; it should not be ripe for some time. Cider apples need to be harvested as late as they can hang (or later, harvest off ground), the cider will be much better that way.

I would plan on filling out the carboy with random other apples if you don't have enough cider apples.

Scott

• windfall_rob
    Original Author