Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gigelus2k13

plums in N. California good for preserving?

gigelus2k13
10 years ago

Hello,

Is there any plum cultivar avaliable in the SF Bay Area that bears sweet fruit that is freestone and not too juicy?

I'm looking for something similar to the serbian plum, which, in the original habitat, matures in late September or early October, and has enough natural sweetness so that I don't have to add any sugar when reducing it to "plum butter".

I've been making plum preserve ("magiun de prune") for a few years now but all the plums I can get here, in stores or farmer's markets, are very juicy (not a good thing when you have to reduce them) and not sweet enough. Including things like "friar's plum" or italian.

Besides, the only plum tree I saw being cultivated in my neighborhood is bearing round, pale-blue and very watery fruit that ripens in early August, not suitable for preserving.

What plum varieties grow here that mature later in the season?

Serban

Comments (10)

• mrsg47
    10 years ago

Serban, I grow Italian plums and they are far from a juicy japanese variety. They make excellent jam, preserves, pruneaux and butter. Mrs. G

• eboone_gw
    10 years ago

Serban - was your 'serbian plum' a purple or green/yellow colored fruit?

When I visited Slovenia some years ago (visiting my wife's kin) I saw growing everywhere a pale yellow/green colored plum that they made preserves and brandy from, but also a fair number of purple plums used for the same purpose. It was in July, too early to taste the fruits unfortunately. I believe that the purple plum was similar to the Pozegaca plum listed on page 3 of the Raintree catalog of European plums linked below. The yellow/green plums looked somewhat like the Golden Transparent Gage plum on page one, though I am certain it was not that plum. Good luck with your search!

Here is a link that might be useful: European plums in Raintree catalog

• gigelus2k13
    Original Author
    10 years ago