Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oregonwoodsmoke

Fuji Apple Harvest

oregonwoodsmoke
13 years ago

This is my first year to get apples on my Fuji.

Right now the apples are crisp and delicious, but they are not coming off the tree easily.

So, question: Do Fuji apples break off the tree easily when they are ripe?

Is it worth it to allow them to fully ripen, or are they at their best before they are fully ripe?

Comments (9)

• alan haigh
    13 years ago

I like them fully ripe and they should snap off easily I think. If they are as sweet as you want them to be then why not eat them now. How dark are the seeds?

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    13 years ago

It took me years of fighting the birds to find out mine didn't ripen here until about Nov 1. The flesh gets a fairly dark yellow when really ripe. Agree with hman, if they taste ripe enough to suit, then they must be ripe.

• oregonwoodsmoke
    Original Author
    13 years ago

It hadn't occurred to me to check the seeds. Seeds are brown.

Nov, huh? I think I will go and pick most of them and get them into storage and leave some so I can check and see what happens to them as the weeks go by.

I'm just afraid to lose them if I wait too long. My mystery inherited tree has great fruit this year but it hangs on the tree about 30 minutes when it gets ripe. As soon as it is ready, it is off the tree and it's tender, so when it drops, it bruises. I've lost a bunch of them.

• oregonwoodsmoke
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I just picked the Fujis. They are snapping off the tree today.

• Axel
    13 years ago

How can you already get fujis? Mine don't ripen until then end of October. All sorts of varieties are ripening for me right now but fuji is not one of them.

• oregonwoodsmoke
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Axel, everything is out of whack this year. Grapes are early, Asian pears are late, peaches were early, apricots were late.