Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
naugrad2005

Powdery Mildew on Grapes

NAUgrad2005
12 years ago

Hello! I'm a novice gardener, and have had grapevines in my backyard for the past 3 years. I've never had any issues in previous years but my grapes have recently gotten powdery mildew on 3 of the 4 plants. From what I've read online, there are products that can prevent it from spreading to the other plants, but I haven't found any information as to what to do with the plants once they have the mildew. Most of the grapes have the powdery coating on them and the leaves are slightly curled and discolored. What do I need to do to prevent this from happening again? Are the vines a total loss? I'd hate to have to remove them and start over, but I'll do what I need to do. I have 2 plants of Thompson's seedless green grapes, 1 Concord grape plant and 1 red grape plant. I'm assuming that my total crop is a loss this year...I doubt the grapes are edible now.

Thanks for any info!

Comments (12)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    12 years ago

There are several controls. The most commonly used control is dusting sulfur and wettable sulfur. One needs to be a little careful with this during really hot weather. But I saw growers spraying it all the time in CA where it regularly hit 100+.

There are several systemic fungicides. These penetrate the plant tissues and provide control for several weeks.

All controls need to start early, May or June.

Your plants are not damaged, just the leaves and fruit. They should still produce a crop next year. If you think the fruit is a loss, I'd remove it to lower the drain on the plant.

• backyardener
    12 years ago